Committee on Public Occasions


The Committee on Public Occasions is responsible for providing the President with a list of potential speakers for Final Exercises, Fall Convocation, and certain other University-wide ceremonies as identified by the President.

Committee Structure

The Committee consists of the following members:

Up to 15 faculty/staff members including:

  • Faculty Senate representative
  • University Communications representative
  • Vice President and Chief Student Affairs Officer

Eleven student members including:

  • Fourth Year Class President
  • Honor Committee Chair
  • Judiciary Committee Chair
  • Student Council President
  • Seven at-large members

2016-2017 Committee Membership (as of July 22, 2016)

  • Pamela W. Higgins, Chair
  • Jann T. Balmer
  • Edward W. Davis
  • John J. Dobbins
  • C. Thomas Faulders III
  • Frederick P. Hitz
  • Archie L. Holmes
  • Alexander B. Horniman  (Faculty Senate Representative)
  • Patricia M. Lampkin  (Vice President and Chief Student Affairs Officer)
  • C. McGregor McCance  (University Communications Representative)
  • Kenneth S. Stroupe
  • Nancy A. Takahashi
  • Anda L. Webb
  • Brantly Womack


Student Members:

  • Abraham Axler
  • Lital Firestone
  • Caroline Herre
  • Emily Lodge (Student Council President)
  • Patrick Rice (President, Class of 2017)
  • Ahmad Shawwal (President, Class of 2019)
  • Malcolm Stewart (President, Class of 2018)
  • Mitch Wellman (University Judiciary Committee Chair)
  • Matt West (Honor Committee Chair)